Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

ESOL Online. Every child literate - a shared responsibility.
Ministry of Education.

English for Academic Purposes (EAP) unit standards - Level 4 Millennium units

Formative teaching and learning resources

The topic of these Teaching and Learning Sequences are the evaluation of the Millennium Development Goals which were replaced by the Sustainable Development Goals in 2016.

These teaching and learning sequences focus on an evaluation of the Millennium Development Goals and lead to a formative assessment on the same topic. Summative assessment could focus on a different aspect or evaluation of the Millennium Development Goals OR be based on the Sustainable Development Goals.

These formative resources are designed to be used together. They recycle language to provide multiple opportunities for students to practise and transfer skills. For example, the listening teaching and learning sequence will ensure students have the background and skills that will enable them to better cope with the demands of the reading activities.

Each of the modules for the EAP unit standards (listening, speaking, reading, and writing) provides two sections:

  • Teaching and learning sequences with an overview of learning tasks, a number of separate teaching and learning sequences outlining the strategies and learning activities followed by the templates for those strategies and learning activities.
  • Formative assessment with an overview of the standard, assessor guidelines, student checklist, formative assessments and formative exemplars (these are exemplars for the purpose of giving feedback before students complete their summative assessments).

It is expected that teachers will select activities according to the needs of their students.

Teachers can adjust the teaching and learning tasks to a topic which suits their students’ interests, or their programme better. Here are some guidelines for adapting these units to suit another topic: 

Skill focus Unit standard Tasks

Unit Standard 22892, version 4:

Demonstrate understanding of spoken texts and process information in English for academic purposes.


Unit Standard 22891, version 4:

Deliver an oral presentation in English for an academic purpose.


Unit Standard 22751, version 4:

Read and process information in English for academic purposes.


Unit Standard 22750, version 4:

Write a crafted text using researched material in English for an academic purpose.

What are the Millennium Development Goals?

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight international development goals that were established in 2000. All 189 United Nations member states at the time committed to help achieve Millennium Development Goals by 2015.

Why the topic was chosen

This topic was chosen because the wide range of the goals makes them relevant to a large number of curriculum subjects and individual student interests. There are a wealth of resources of a suitable level available on the MDGs. It is expected that the topic will remain current for some time.


The writers of these modules are Jenni Bedford and Breda Matthews.

Published on: 18 Jan 2018

Supporting material

NZQA assessment support materials have been developed to support interpretation of the unit standards and to show how they can be meaningfully assessed.