Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

ESOL Online. Every child literate - a shared responsibility.
Ministry of Education.

What are the stages of the English Language Learning Progressions?

The broad stages of the English Language Learning Progressions are:

  • Foundation
  • Stage One
  • Stage Two
  • Stage Three
  • Stage Four

in oral language, writing and reading.

The stages are described in very broad and generalised terms. This is deliberate. Language acquisition does not necessarily follow a smooth or linear pathway.

The matrices do not describe language learning in exact detail, although the supporting exemplars do. This approach allows teachers to make judgments across a range of contexts, text-types and ages using the same matrix.

Judgments about what stage a learner is at can never be absolutely accurate; they can only indicate the ‘best fit’ for that learner. Your professional judgement is always needed.

You will probably notice that some learners will show features across more than one stage.